Police Advisory Board


The purpose of the Police Advisory Board is to provide an organized forum for two-way communication between the police department and the community. The importance of citizen involvement in policing as a strategy to solidify the transparency and trust between local law enforcement and the public it serves.  This shall be accomplished by:

  • Assist in identifying potential police and community partnerships to address public safety related issues within the community.
  • Identify community resources and support for public safety activities, such as community outreach programs, and give input to the police department regarding perceived effectiveness.
  • Receive information and comments from citizens at the committee's open and public meeting forum regarding public safety issues.
  • Provide input on officer training and education, technology and equipment, and officer safety and wellness programs.
  • Make reports to the town council at such times as may be requested by the council or deemed necessary.


Membership shall be appointed by the Town of Burgaw Board of Commissioners for a two-year term. All subsequent appointments, except to fill a vacancy, shall be for two-year terms. A vacancy is created upon the death or resignation, in writing, to the committee chairperson. Members of the committee shall serve without pay and at the discretion of the Town of Burgaw Board of Commissioners. 

The Police Chief, or his designee, shall serve as the administrator advisor and ex officio member in assisting this board.


The Police Advisory Board meets on a quarterly basis, the third Tuesday of February, May, August, and November. The meetings begin at 5:30 PM and are held at the Historic Train Depot, 115 S. Dickerson Street, Burgaw NC, unless otherwise posted.


  • Wayne Briley, Chair
  • Kevin Kozak, Vice-Chair
  • Cathy Guidry, Secretary
  • Suzette Thompson-Dudley
  • Farris Leonard
  • Harold Wilcox III
  • Char-Lynn Robinson