The Public Works maintains the Burgaw Cemetery, owned by the Town of Burgaw, located at 200 East Wallace Street. The cemetery land was deeded to the Town of Burgaw in November of 1893 by the Wilmington & Weldon Railroad Company.
Location & History
The cemetery consists of approximately ten acres of land in a serene setting. Buried among the old oak trees are people from many walks of life. Many of these people helped to shape the history and character of the Town of Burgaw. According to records, there are graves dating back to the 1860s.
In addition to the rich history of the Burgaw Cemetery, there is a quaintness and charm about the grounds that invite one to take a stroll across the shaded lanes to spend some time with nature and reflect on life.
Visitation hours are from dawn to dusk, 7 days a week.
Pets are not allowed on the cemetery property.
A permit issued by the Burgaw Town Clerk must be obtained before any burial or placement of grave stones. Please call (910) 663-3441 for more information.
Burial plots are no longer available for purchase from the Town of Burgaw.